Fire and Ice

12 Jul

When I first read the poem “Fire and Ice” by Robert Frost the image of 2012 and all the commotion behind it popped into my head. My inital reading  of  the poem was very literal. The poem seems simple at first glance.  There are some people who believe the world will end in fire and some who believe it will end in ice. The speaker favors the world ending in fire as opposed to ice, but sees the damage that both could create.  

However, when I reread the poem I began to think of the significance of the words fire and ice. When I think of the word ice I think of the cold. Therefore, I believe the author is using the word ice as a person being cold with hatred. The speaker also uses the word hate in comparing it to ice.

  I think I know enough of hate

To say that for destruction ice

Is also great

                The word fire could have many meanings to me, but from the poem the speaker says,

“From what I’ve tasted of desire

I hold with those who favor fire”

 The words fire and desire go together. I interpreted the word fire meaning an individual’s own desire.  The word desire can signify almost anything since everyone has different desires. Some examples that came to mind was desire for wealth, love, and fame. However, since the end of the world has a negative depiction I think that the person’s desire doesn’t necessary have good intentions with it. For example, some people desire wealth and will do whatever it takes to get wealth even if it means harming others. It reminds me of egoism because the person has a desire and it only benefits them. The way that the person accomplishs this desire is insignificant.

                The message of the poem is that the world will either end by people’s selfish desires or by hatred or coldness of others. He says that he prefers fire but ice or hatred can do the same amount of damage as fire.

Would you prefer the world to end from fire or ice?

One Response to “Fire and Ice”

  1. Chandler West July 13, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Nice post. I really liked your interpretation of the fire and ice. I took something different away from it when I read it but after reading your analysis I think I’ve changed my opinion on the piece. I think the desire vs. hate thing is a really good point and both could be something that pushes the world over the edge. Well done.

    Oh, and if I had to pick one or the other, I think I stick with Frost and pick Fire too.

Leave a comment